1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finally starting to figure myself out

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by calleigh, Dec 21, 2015.

1. calleigh

This is a post I've been meaning to write for a little while now, but I thought I'd share my story (so far) with you all...

I'm 29, and up until about a year and a half ago, never had any question that I was straight. Then I started playing roller derby. More than half the girls in my team are lesbians, or otherwise non-straight, and just over a year ago I started to question my sexuality. It sounds almost clichéd to say I started playing roller derby and then started wondering if I was gay. The most obvious reason I can think of is that, until that point, I didn't really know any lesbians. It was almost like I knew in theory that lesbians existed, but they seemed a little like mystical creatures that I'd never come across.

Also, growing up, I was such a straight-laced good girl - I loved school, did well at it, did what my parents told me, never had a teenage rebellion phase, didn't drink alcohol until I went to uni - I basically did exactly what was expected of me by my teachers, parents, society etc, and never thought to question anything about my life, or push the boundaries at all.

Last summer, I started slightly fancying one of the girls on my team - it was a fairly short term thing, but it certainly got me thinking. And then I noticed that, actually, I was much more likely to notice a girl at work etc who I thought was hot, than a guy.