1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8 Stages of coming out

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Louie1, Jan 13, 2016.

1. Louie1

Hi, I've been visiting this site for a few years now and reading many threads and just amazed and very grateful that there is an online community that is so accepting, understanding of each and every person's own coming out process. It varies for EVERY person and there are no set rules. I've been reading a book called "A Life Of Unlearning" and it talks about the 8 stages of coming out. I know there is a section on this website covering the stages of coming out, but I seem to relate more to the below list. I would like to share it with you all.

Here it is. I'm currently in the very early stages of step 7. Where are you now?
    The process of coming out and resolving our sexuality is rarely simple. It is a process and a journey. There is no timetable either. I have worked with teens who have reached the final step of celebration and people in their 60’s who have just arrived at stage 7. The factors that thwart the process or cause people to get stuck are family, geography, culture or religion. These additional influences, depending on how important they are in the individual’s life, can hold them back for years, even decades.

1. Unconscious of sexual identity– I don’t know I’m gay, straight or anything. I’m just a kid.