1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Common thread for those realizing later in life

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by ariverinegypt, Feb 3, 2016.

1. ariverinegypt

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Why is it that some people discover their sexuality later in life? Is there a common thread between us?

I would guess the common thing is either coming from a repressive background or never having the time to think about who you were. What are your experiences like? Could you please mention the age that it first occurred to you that you weren't straight.

I've only realized a few months ago when I was majorly depression. I've never gave myself the option to be anything but straight before then and it was the most panic inducing feeling ever. I still feel like two different people.

2. afgirl

I'm very new to this, but anxious to learn more about myself so that' s why I'm here. Well, I have only dated men all my life, never had any real LGBT friends (that I knew of, I know this sounds weird, but it's true), and have never had any romantic feelings for another female. The place I work at now has a large number of LGBT employees, so I had gotten to know some at work and ended up in the same gatherings. One in particular I just thought was really nice. I liked her. I don't even think I knew how I liked her. I even told her to call me when they did something because I'd be happy to get out of the house once in awhile. Before I knew it, I had a crush on her. Still no big deal because I would never be bold enough to act on it. Well, she called me up to go out for drinks (as friends...she even told me to bring whoever I wanted). Anyway, in the course of the evening, she kisses me. Toe curling OMG this is really happening kiss. I spent the rest of the weekend in a WTF stupor. Anyway, we are now in a solid relationship and I'