1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Taking stock

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by nerdbrain, Feb 21, 2016.

1. nerdbrain

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Some people
    So here I am on a Sunday night, comfortable in bed with my laptop.

I've made the decision to finally do the divorce paperwork, and my wife is fine with it. We're still on great terms. She's moved/moving on.

I, on the other hand, have not. In fact, I don't really know what to do. Actually, that's not true. I know lots of things to do: make some gay friends, get out and enjoy life, have some hookups and dates.

I'm just not inspired to do any of them. It feels like work. Specifically, work that I'm not very good at. I wish I felt more of the excitement to be "free" that I've heard from others on EC.

Instead I just feel resignation and bewilderment. The life path I've been on for 36 years has proven to be futile. I don't know what to feel. I'm not especially horny. All I do is work and sleep. I live in NYC and I don't participate in any of the activities the city offers. Nothing is interesting.

Yeah, its probably either depression or the effect of my anti-depressants. But I miss having some kind of goal or vision of the future to drive me.

For the first time in my life, the way forward is totally unknown.

If I wasn't sober, this would be a great time for a peyote trip to find my spirit animal or something :slight_smile:

#1 nerdbrain, Feb 21, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016
  2. Closeteer

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Oh, nerdbrain :slight_smile:

First, bravo! This is a significant turning point in your life, and you'll be all the happier for it in the long run.