1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Everyone assumes I'm gay but I am not sure

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Law85, Apr 2, 2016.

1. Law85

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi all. I hope this is in the right category. A little about me: I'm a 30 year old professional; I have bad luck in relationships with men, and friends and family have joked or asked if I'm a lesbian. I always assumed I was straight but a late bloomer. I have dated a hoard of gay men (then closeted) and had my last relationship with a man about 3 years ago. I've been on my own since focusing on my friends, career, and dog. I have tried out the online dating scene since I feel weird hitting on people in public. My best friend is a lesbian (married to a man and dating a woman) and we have an incredibly close relationship. Weekly sleepovers, text at all hours of the day, and we make time to see each other almost every day.

We were having a deep heart to heart this past week and I started putting pieces together that maybe I'm not as straight as I thought I was. I have been honest that I do have romantic thoughts about her, but I'd never act on them as our friendship is way more important. During our conversation the topic changed to lesbian things, and she stopped me and asked when I was going to be truthful to myself and come out. I was kind of shocked, but we walked back through a lot of my history and present goals, and I'm terrified she's right.

I don't want to be gay. I am an ally and supportive of the community and gay rights, but I feel like my world would crumble if it were me. My folks would be fine, as would my friends. I would be terrified to tell the rest of my family as they are rabidly anti-gay. I also wouldn't dare be out at work, as I live in a conservative state with no legal protections for sexual identity discrimination.