1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

End of the line

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by nerdbrain, Apr 6, 2016.

1. nerdbrain

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I've been waffling about my marriage for nearly two years now. The situation is out of control. It's time to make the hard choice.

The choice boils down to sex versus love. I love my wife with all my heart, and I enjoy sex with her because it is an expression of that love. But my deepest erotic needs require dick. That part of my fantasy life has been a constant for nearly two decades.

They say you should follow your heart. I wish that were true. Love can change. Feelings can change. Emotions can change. Sexuality doesn't change. If I stay with my wife I will always feel that an important part of me is suppressed. I can't live like that.

So it looks like I must sacrifice my love in order to free my sex. Maybe that seems melodramatic. But to me, it's a moral choice of epic proportions, like choosing which child will live and which must die. That's why I've struggled with it so much.

I believe that after a few years of grief and experimentation, I'll probably find a way to love a man in a satisfying way. I hope that I will find a way to let go of the guilt I feel for hurting my wife so deeply. I hope that she finds a way to move past it and find joy in her life.

I don't know how I'm going to tell her (for real this time). I can't bear to face the wounded look in her eyes. I can't look at the pictures of us together. I deeply regret that I've stayed close to her this whole time, keeping the hope alive that things might work out.

I didn't ask for this and wouldn't wish this burden on anyone. I feel that I have examined every possibility and exhausted every option. I wish I could say I was resolved and determined, but really I'm just at the end of my rope.