1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I don't have a choice in this, do I?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by LostInDaydreams, Aug 13, 2016.

1. LostInDaydreams

Moderator Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I mean, I can choose whether or not to act on it, but I can't actually choose who I'm attracted to and what turns me on, can I?

I actually googled "hot guys" this evening to see whether I was attracted to any of them. I've never done that before in my life!! What's wrong with me? Even when I thought I was straight, I wasn't physically attracted to guys. I never had pictures of them on my wall or anything. What did I think was going to happen?

:bang:

2. RosePetals76

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    You just described my life. AND my realization that lead to coming out.

3. LostInDaydreams

Moderator Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Thanks, Rose.

I seem to lose sight of the fact I don't have a choice sometimes. As if I can forget all about it and happily go back to straight.

4. I'm gay

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    You can choose to live in the closet but I don't believe you can choose your orientation. Sometimes the difficulty lies in figuring out your orientation. Being in the closet and married to an opposite gender spouse has only worked when I was in denial. I found that after accepting that I was gay it really prevented me from going back into denial and was the first step in my coming out. That's been my experience.

5. mvp 447

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone