1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to find (hidden) job postings.

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Really, Aug 30, 2016.

1. Really

Hi all,

As I've noticed a number of people saying they need to find work or want to change jobs but are at a bit of a loss finding anything, I thought I would write out my tips for job-finding for anyone who needs help in this area. (As promised in another thread.) This is quite long so buckle up.

N.B. I'm not an HR professional. I'm just a bit geeky and like problem solving and have had success in the past helping a handful of people get their new jobs. Depending on where you are in your career, you could always use a Head Hunter but I think these tips could work for almost anybody.

Side note for those just now trying to get work with little or no experience, you actually do have skills, strengths and weaknesses AND experience. It has just maybe come from something other than a full-time job. Have a listen to this podcast by Marcus Buckingham. He has a very helpful, different way of looking at this. It's been a while since I listened to this but I think you can apply what he says to anything you've done whether it was "real" work or not. Here's the link. Take Control of Your Career and Your Life with Marcus Buckingham Podcast by Marcus Buckingham - Free Podcast Download

Ok! So here's my method.

Let's say you want to work in a certain industry, in a certain city. Let's say, Travel in Istanbul.

So now you google: Travel jobs in Istanbul (I know, obvious, but wait...)