1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wondering

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by KSatt, Oct 3, 2016.

1. KSatt

I'm very new to all of this as I've only very recently even come out to myself. I live in a very conservative area, so I don't know if I'll ever feel comfortable coming out as long as I live here. When I think about it, I should've realized I wasn't straight much sooner than I did; however, I'm very good at denying the truth and pushing aside what I feel. I've been attracted to women at least since adolescence.

I currently identify as bisexual, but I'm beginning to wonder if that is accurate. While I've only had experience with men and I can appreciate when a man is attractive, I don't know that I actually feel sexual attraction toward men. For me, sex with a man is just something to get over with. I also can't form emotional attachments in relationships with men. I just feel like I'm smothering. There is a guy in my life right now who wants more from me, and I'm at a loss for how to fend him off. He's a great friend, but he could never be more.

However, since I've never had any sort of relationship with a woman, it makes me wonder how I can be sure things would be any different with a woman. What if I'm just broken? What if I'm just incapable of feeling anything? Of having any sort of meaningful relationship? I'm 34 years old and have never had a successful relationship or been in love, never even been close. In the area where I live, I don't even know how to go about meeting someone. Sometimes I wonder if I should just settle for a "normal" relationship with a man even if I'll only ever feel friendship for him...and be disgusted when he tries to touch me.

2. Gunsmoke

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people