1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

25, UK, and waiting for my first GIC appointment

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by tommebbo, Jan 14, 2017.

1. tommebbo

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi, im new to these types of blogs :newcolor: . I've made my first contact with my GP, and they have done a referral to a GIC in London, UK. I'm so scared about socially transitioning and am worried im going to get told by the psychiatrist that I don't have gender dysphoria and therefor wont receive HRT or support. ive never felt that i was in the right body. Every time I shower / have a bath, i feel disgusted and a strong hatred for my genitals. I am not sexually active anymore because it doesn't feel right. I don't even self pleasure :icon_sad: When i think of myself in the future, I don't see a man, I see a middle aged woman enjoying life settled down and happy. I hate the fact i grow facial hair, and constantly feel lost and not at peace. I'm so excited to be starting this journey, but I am also so anxious.

Is anyone else experiencing these feelings? or am I just chatting utter :***: ?

Thanks for reading, and I look forward to all your input.

2. Really

I'm no expert but that sounds like gender dysphoria to me. You appear to know exactly how you feel so just communicate that and I'm sure you'll get whatever help you need to move forward. I'm sure GPs don't refer people to a GIC lightly. There has to be something there for them to do it.

Would it make you feel better to write down all your "evidence"? Are there any questionnaires on the web to help people sort out their feelings regarding their gender? Maybe you could put together your answers to take with you. I think that will help you feel calmer about moving forward and also "arm" yourself with documentation.

Just a thought. Good luck! :thumbsup:

3. baristajedi

Gender Pronoun:
    They