1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Afraid of Sex

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by r2de2baca, Jan 24, 2017.

1. r2de2baca

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I posted on a previous thread about shame and guilt. something related to that is that I am afraid of sex. although i am attracted to guys and eventually would like to be in a loving sexual relationship with one, i feel like im terrified of sex or "going on the way". part of it has to do with my own insecurities regarding my body and my lack of sexual experience. i wonder is my body good enough. will he like my body. although i work out, i still do not have the perfect body and feel ashamed about small areas of fat. i also think since i am not very experienced will i be even "good at it". will it turn him off if i do not know what to do or im scared. will he be patient with me since i'm sure he is used to very experienced guys. i also feel shame that i'm in my 40s and still not very experienced in this area. i am insecure that it will be turn off to most gay guys. i also think "what if i don't even like the sex?" you mean, i put myself through all this torture and i don't even like the sex? although i've made out with guys my all the way experience is almost non-existant. in a way, i feel like it's a second coming out to guys to tell them that at my age, im not the sex machine they may think i would be given my age. sure i want to get freaky like everyone else but i have a lot of gay sex shame issues and insecurities and i'm just very afraid to go forward with it not to mention std/hiv fears. i know there are logical ways to protect yourself against these fears (prep, PEP, condoms, testing before sex), but of course, i have anxieties about those too (will the condom break, do i want to be on a random pill every day what will it do to me down the road, nothing is std