1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

when or how to tell someone you're dating that you're bi

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by tninivah, Mar 16, 2017.

1. tninivah

Hello all!

Newbie here, first time posting.

I've been bi most of my adult life but very selective on who I tell. I told my ex-wife but I didn't act on it during my marriage and it wasn't an issue in our marriage, she left me.
    I've been divorced about two years now and have become more open with my sexuality. Lately I've been on dates with both men and women. I've had a hard time figuring out when is a good time to tell women that I'm interested in that I'm bi. I'm finding that heterosexual women who claim to be open and supportive of my sexuality are the first ones to drop me for that exact reason!!

Is this common or do other bi men have problems dating hetero women? It's to the point that I'm considering not saying at all. I know that's kinda deceitful but I'd like the lady get to know me before dumping me immediately at the beginning. When I'm with someone I will be with that person. I don't "need" to be with both sexes at the same time.

Thanks

2. dirtyshirt84

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey

I'm a Bi woman but have experienced the same kind of problem you are having.

I told my husband a couple months after meeting him, I think it was on a drunken night out which I probably wouldn't recommend :wink: I have previously had a relationship with a woman and I didn't want him to find that out from anyone else. I knew he was very LGBT friendly anyway as he has a gay friend and used to help out the LGBT society at University even though he is straight. My husband asked lots of questions but had always pretty cool and supportive about it.