1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it possible to not realise that you were gay earlier in life?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Aj462, Apr 12, 2017.

1. Aj462

Aj462 Guest

I've slowly been speaking to my wife about my emerging attraction to the same sex, and whilst I haven't felt the need to identify myself as being gay or bi yet, this is a very upsetting and emotional time for us both.

One thing my wife said the other day was that she thought I couldn't be gay because I have no knowledge of 'knowing' that I was gay when I was young. Something that she thinks gay men all seem to have experience of, based on our friends' experience and likely internet research she has done herself.

Personally, I don't think this is always apparent, and after reflecting on my own experiences, fellow members of EC and hearing other stories of people coming out online, I seem to notice two different experiences of people coming out later in life:

1. People that knew they were gay when younger, yet chose to try and live a straight life (marriage to an opposite-sex partner etc.) out of fear or because living as a gay person was not a valid option.

2. People that did not even know they were gay when younger, and around mid-life realise that they are gay even though they thought they were straight up until that point of later realisation.

Personally I think that I fall into the second category, due to my fundamentalist religion teaching me to view homosexuality as a (sinful) lifestyle choice, and causing me to repress and not recognise my own orientation and desires.

Which of the above two categories resonate with you? Perhaps your experience is not explained by either of these categories?

2. OnTheHighway

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone