1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on Finding Therapist?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Stoical, May 6, 2013.

1. Stoical

Hey all. I'm not sure if this is the proper place to post this (mods feel free to move this thread if it should be in another area). But I know a few people here have experience with therapists, so I figured it was a good starting point. Basically, I've been thinking it might be beneficial to try talking some of my issues out with a therapist - ideally, one that specializes in coming out and/or LGBTQ issues.

The somewhat embarrassing part about this is that I realized I have no idea how to go about finding one. None of my close friends or immediate family have ever used one (as far as I know anyway). I've been poking around a bit online but I'm sort of cautious about just randomly calling offices based on online ads. I'm not experienced enough in this area to tell what's legitimate and what's questionable.

Anyone have any advice or tips that can point me in the right direction? It'd be greatly appreciated! :icon_bigg

2. Foxface

Sure thing...well I cannot ask for your location but I will say this. Amazingly enough google and the phone book can really help here. You can always call your local hospital and ask for the social worker and they usually have books full of names.

I would recommend you work with one that specializes in LGBT issues and depending where you live that can be easy or hard to find. I would recommend calling some therapists and just asking questions. You can learn a lot about a therapist by talking to them. Most are willing to give you an introduction to how they work. In fact they are MANDATED to foreclose a lot before they see you.