1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Maybe not as "out" as I thought I was ?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by bingostring, May 12, 2013.

1. bingostring

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I think have been sort of creeping out of the closet for about 10-15 years ...

but I am still unhappy, actually struggling with major depression since 10 years ago, always saying "I'm fine" to people when, inside, I am crumbling ...

do you think I am kidding myself that I am out at all... I am very private and - to this day - steer conversations away from personal matters (EVEN when I'm with the few people I am "out" to) can you believe it ????

maybe I am permanently damaged by my deep rooted internalised homophobia and I will not shake it off .. ever

I'd be interested in your thoughts...

in anticipation :eusa_doh:

2. EddyG

I'm far from an expert, having just come "out" to my wife not long ago, but it seems to me there are levels of being out: Being out to oneself, that is just admitting that I'm gay; then the question of who else I tell -- just my wife; my wife and some friends, and if so which ones; everyone; etc.

I'm assuming that you are out to yourself as you identify yourself in your profile as gay. Have you told anyone else directly? It seems that you have. That's really all it means, it doesn't mean (I don't think) having to directly engage the topic in every or even any other discussions. Those few friends know and that's my understanding of being out is.

But hopefully other more experienced folks here can chime in on this too.

---------- Post added 12th May 2013 at 04:08 PM ----------