1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help and advice please

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by MrCamus, Jun 18, 2013.

1. MrCamus

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Three weeks ago my wife came out to me. I was surprised and unsurprised all at the same time. We had been having difficulties for several years, no fights or yelling just miscommunications and tensions that I never understood. I attributed this to the usual ups and downs of a marriage and parenting; complicated by the fact that I am a disabled veteran. We had been through a tumultuous seven years that had demanded constant readjustments.
    I was the first person she came out to and it was very difficult for her. I was saddened by the loss of my marriage and afraid for a now uncertain future. More than that I was very sad for her; next to our daughter my wife is the most precious person in the world to me. Knowing that she had suffered for so long denying her own identity. I can’t find words to express the sorrow in recognizing that pain in someone I love so much.
    Over the course of the following weeks we talked a great deal. A divorce would have to happen, but we would take our time with it. Our primary concern was our daughter and how to limit any negative impact on her. In the process of talking we became close again; all the distance and strangeness that had developed over the years fell away. We are best friends again, as we were when we first met and were dating. Which makes things a great deal easier; there was never any cheating, no betrayals or resentment. Instead we have jokes and sometimes inappropriately candid conversations; which has involved the purchasing of a “best beard ever.” T-shirt for the eventual coming out party.