1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Separating, four kids, HARD

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Carm, Jun 21, 2013.

1. Carm

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hi, Everyone. I've been on and off EC for about a year, so some of you may recognize me. I came on last year completely in over my head, totally unhappy with my marriage. I came out seven years ago, 5 years after being married to the first boyfriend and first lover I'd ever had. My background is conservative in the extreme, and the possibility of my attractions being gay hadn't even been on my radar. So when I came out to self, I came out to my husband right away and we filed for divorce. It was nasty and messy with lots of boundary-less family involvement. The problem is that we really love and care for each other. There is just NO sexual attraction on my side. But there is emotional connection, which can sometimes override my lack of sexual desire. So when we renegotiated staying together, the deal was that I could have gay friends, have gay-friendly friends, and that we would keep communication open. That lasted TOPS 2 months, but more like 2 weeks. Within a few months we were having sex whenever he wanted (which was extremely frequent, in my opinion), upon threat of divorce if I wasn't meeting his needs. It was a super-unhealthy arrangement, but I was terrified of rocking the boat again. We stayed like that for six years.