1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Helping 13 year old gay daughter

Discussion in 'For Parents and Family Members of LGBT People' started by Teresa73, Jun 3, 2015.

1. Teresa73

Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi everyone, I'm Teresa and brand spanking new here. So forgive me while I learn my way around the forums and I am new to being a parent of a gay daughter who is 13, so forgive anything if it comes across as naive or old fashioned as I learn how to support her on her journey.

For starters, my daughter (age 13) recently told me she is gay and that she is also (I forget the word) trans gender or fluid gender? She had her long hair cut short in a pixie cut or emo male kind of cut. She met a girl online who is 14 and fell madly in love (crush) with her. This nice girl lives in Australia while we live in America.

My daughter also feels she does not look pretty as a girl but that she looks better dressed in boy clothes. Yet she also just said she has started liking pastels and *thinks* Anime Pastels or Kuwaii things I think she called them. Cute girly stuff basically. I personally feel she is in the stage where she is exploring everything, does she want to dress grunge or boyish, does she want to dress cute and girly, is she gay or bi, etc.

I also feel she has low self esteem, is very shy and quiet and from what she told me she has found girls prettier, nicer and more attractive emotionally and physically since 3rd grade. But she also has had a crush or two on boys and been ignored or dissed by the boys for 'cuter' and 'thinner' more 'perfect' looking girls.