1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lonely child

Discussion in 'For Parents and Family Members of LGBT People' started by mamabear, Sep 13, 2015.

1. mamabear

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Hello,

It's my first time here and I hope I can find some help. My 26 year old MTF child came out to us recently and I am very worried. She has seen a therapist twice and she gave her a letter and referred her to an endocrinologist for hormone treatment. I have no problem with her being transgender. My problem is that it seems to me that she may be doing this to fast. Since she is 26 there is nothing I can do. I have been talking with her about different support groups in the area where she lives. She has been going to some meetings, but still she has this urge to change.
    Other problem she is experiencing is being lonely. She just moved to a new town (job related) and does not have friends. Again I keep telling her to go to the support meetings and try to make friends there but she tells me that the other transgender people there are either children or older adults.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I love my child and am very worried about her.

2. SemiCharmedLife

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I came out to my parents at the same age as your daughter and I live 2000 miles away from them. Based on how my coming-out went, I advise you to just keep doing what you're doing. It's true that because she's an adult and lives far away there's not a whole lot you can do to change what she's doing. But, by being interested and informed and supportive when she wants to talk, you can be there if and when she does want to turn to you. From everything you've said, it seems like that's what you've expressed to her.

3. Mero

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Sorry if this isn't helpful, but just give her some space and time.