1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Homophobic parents and gay brother. What can I do??

Discussion in 'For Parents and Family Members of LGBT People' started by K5E, Feb 22, 2016.

1. K5E

K5E Guest

My parents are extremely homophobic and it's gotten to the point where we can't even watch Ellen. Like what?! She's just trying to make people happy..What's wrong with them? And when I was 10 (10!!!) they scolded- and yelled at me for being ''married'' to my (male) best friend on Facebook (Don't ask why I had Facebook at age 10 lol). I'm the eldest out of 3 siblings and I've always been an independent thinker so I never believed any of the shit they told us. And while I'm not gay myself, my younger brother is. He hasn't come out to me, I just know. I’ve educated myself about the LGBTQ community and while I'm still learning, I try to show my support whenever I can. Hell, I even made all my friends stop using ''gay'' as a slur and I stood up to my parents a few days ago.. But still, after everything, he doesn't feel like he can talk to me about it. I can see how all of the things my parents say has gotten to him, despite me telling him how none of it is true, and it breaks my heart..What do I do?

2. Elli

Do you know for certain that he is gay?
    Having stuff like that thrown at you since a very young age makes a change of thought really difficult. So of course, it wouldn't be easy for him to talk about it, maybe especially to somebody who's so close with his parents - who he knows are homophobic - that doesn't mean that he doesn't trust you, I guess it's more of an irrational fear and having you and his parents so close together in his mind, of course it'd be hard.