1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I want to celebrate my wife

Discussion in 'For Parents and Family Members of LGBT People' started by Proud hubby, Mar 3, 2016.

1. Proud hubby

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Hey all,

So I'm really new to this world. I discovered my wife had been on LGBT+ forums and I asked about it. This led to some very confronting times and it was hard for me to work through to what I felt. Anyway the point of this thread is to how/what can I do to celebrate my wife's bisexuality? I know it was a big deal for her having me learn this and I want to do something nice for her.

Thanks

2. Euler

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    What do you feel about your wife's new orientation? Are you feeling OK? In my view there is no need to "celebrate" it unless you really feel like it.

3. WanderingMind

Some of the most meaningful ways my husband has supported me through this:

- frequent check-ins to ask how I'm doing
    - open sharing of his feelings, worries, thoughts
    - giving me space to process; making me take time away by myself
    - helping me see these desires are beautiful and not wrong
    - asking me what I find attractive about women (even being willing to share f/f kissing gifs and artwork he enjoys)
    - we take a lot of walks holding hands, and go on a lot of dates
    - learning on his own about bisexuality and LGBT identity
    - honoring my need for a safe space to explore; he knows about my support systems, but doesn't lurk or pry
    - encouraging me to think about (and act on) what I need without any need to be a part of it (i.e.; he hasn't asked for and doesn't expect a threesome)
    - calmly discusses boundaries (what he can live with, what he needs in return)