1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seeking Support....

Discussion in 'For Parents and Family Members of LGBT People' started by fortysomething, Jun 21, 2016.

1. fortysomething

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting. I've been lurking around the site for about a week. I haven't been quite sure what to say...I'm still "processing". My store is a bit of a long one, but I'll try to keep it as short as I can.

My son who is 19 (will be 20 in about a month) came out to me as gay last Friday...He and I are very close - he is one of my best friends..I had been really suspecting (intuitively knowing)for the last year, maybe I had been in a bit of denial, but really his dad and I had always suspected a little bit since he was small kid..He almost outed himself to me when his wisdom teeth were pulled...I remember at the time (I was video taping) thinking..huh?

My husband and I have talked about it before briefly - my husband has asked me..Do you think he's gay? I would just reply that I didn't know..if he was he hasn't told me. but my mother's intuition told me that he was. my kids have asked my husband, our friends have asked us. I had several friends who told me " you know he is!" and I replied the same each time.

Fast forward to last Friday, I haven't seen much of him lately because he's over the last few weeks been a bit secretive which was not like him, he was staying out all night, never home, not telling me who he was with. etc. We made plans to hang out together and go to a movie. well. during the week I had been wondering how to ask him, wondering if he would tell me...which is when I found this site.