1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Past abuse more prevelant...help

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Ariel Rae, Aug 14, 2013.

1. Ariel Rae

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm new to all this and i mostly joined for support...so here it goes. I'm somewhat a recently out lesbian. When i was in high school, i was dating my first and only boyfriend who during our entire relationship was severely emotionally abusive. Towards the end of the relationship he began physically abusing me and made me think i was crazy and imagining it all. It was back in 2007 that it ended and i had been alone because i didn't trust people after that. I began figuring out my sexuality about 2 years ago( always thought i was gay when i was in elementary school but i suppressed it) and 6 months ago I met the most amazing person, my girlfriend Steph. So far everything is great but there are times when we are being intimate that i have these horrible.....i don't know, flashbacks, i guess of my ex doing all that he did to me and i completely freak out to a point that I've actually knocked Steph off the bed. the abuse never used to bother me but its becoming more prevalent since i started my new relationship. I'm too shy and scared to go to therapy but its making me depressed and makes me want to pull away from my girlfriend. I feel like I'm crazy now.... Has anyone ever had this problem? I don't know what to do, i can't hide it anymore :icon_sad:

2. melodicmom

You need to think about getting some counseling. I know you say that you're too scared and shy to go, but it might really help. You went through a traumatic experience and those things don't just poof away never to be seen again. Until they've been worked through, they have a nasty habit of rearing their ugly heads over and over again.