1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quitting smoking?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by GentleBreeze, Aug 22, 2013.

1. GentleBreeze

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I have been smoking (tobacco lol) for about 12 years now (with a few short times not smoking). I'm curious how many people here currently smoke or have smoked and quit. For any ex-smokers, any tips and tricks to help beat the addiction? So far I've had very little luck quitting. If I can (and if responses are good and numerous) I will make a new thread totally about how to quit smoking for those who are still smoking.

I appreciate any advice and help.

2. LD579

3. Sarah1

Sarah1 Guest

Omg I quit with e cigarettes! You pick a nicotine strength and a flavor it's tobacco free so it's a really good cross over for me I just use ecigs instead now. Lots of 20 years + smokers have quit this way

4. dfiant

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I started smoking when I was 11 years old, so I was a smoker of 33 years. Towards the end of last year I had simply just had enough of the damage it was doing to my health and the damage it was doing to my finances with a pack of 25 smokes in Australia being $20, the habit was consuming $140 a week of which would be better spent on my mortgage.

I went to my GP and told him of my smoking habits and my quit history, I had tried several times. You will not quit if you don't have your head in the right place. The quitting battle as far as I am concerned is 90% psychological, so if your head is not in th right place for you to remain strong, you will never quit no matter how many aids you use (Patches, ecig, Champix).

The most important ingredient is WILL POWER, if you are determined, you will succeed no matter what.