1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

About caloric counting

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Drago2012, Nov 25, 2013.

1. Drago2012

Hello everyone,

I've been dieting for two months already and I've lost 30lbs. I'm uber happy about it, but I have a question that I'm really not sure about.
    I've been doing caloric counting and not exercise (yet) because I think Im still too heavy for exercise (I could be wrong though, but I've gotten results). I used to be 305lbs when I started and Im down to 275, I just figured I was eating about 3000 + calories a day, so I went down to 1500 or so a day.
    My question is, when it comes to counting calories does it count how many you consume a day or is it more weekly based? Because some days I eat very little (not on purpose, I either forget or I have nothing to eat (tough economic times)) and some days I eat a lot more. I'm still loosing weight so I imagine, I must be doing something good.
    One more thing, I also don't want to exercise because it would mean that I'd need to eat more, and I can't afford it yet. Healthy food is quite expensive, you know? (If you need to know, my budget is between 10 and 20 bucks a week (tough times, indeed):icon_sad:slight_smile:

2. Ridiculous

First of all, well done for losing that much - that's impressive!

Gaining and losing bodyfat happens over a long term (weeks and months rather than days). As such your average energy consumption over a week will be more important than any daily fluctuations in how much you eat. Ideally you would want to consume about the same amount each day, simply because this is the easiest to keep track of and keeps your appetite in check, but what actually matters is how much you are consuming in total.
    Consuming 1000 calories one day and 3000 calories the next isn't going to be significantly different to consuming 2000 calories on each day in the long term.