1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nervous breakdown - nomeclature

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Tightrope, Nov 28, 2013.

1. Tightrope

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    We hear it in the news all the time: some high profile person or movie star had a nervous breakdown.

This is a term that is often used, as is meltdown, and they are accurate in that they paint a picture. However, nervous breakdown is not a medical term and not a diagnosis. So, what IS typically the diagnosis that is given when someone goes through a nervous breakdown? Is it depression and stress? With depression and stress, people can still be high functioning. I'm talking about the ones where people disappear, and reappear much later. It seems they would need to differentiate between these two.

2. emkorora

emkorora Guest

I am not a doctor so do not take anything I say as professional.

However, Thomas Szasz's theories on the medicalization of deviance will be the forefront for my response.

"Breakdown," I believe, is a term that is applied to widely and has had its meaning reduced as a result. If it were a career-technical term, it would be more precise and more consistently understood (despite that all meanings are arbitrary-- Sapir Whorf) like penitentiary, punitive, plaintiff, bake v. roast, marinade, brine, stew v. soup, poach v. shallow poach, braise v. poach, etc. (I only chose legal and culinary words because I am most familiar with them).

To that end, I also imagine many other established *conditions* or *events* have had a word developed for them and the treatment of such a condition became institutional. Like ADHD or schizophrenia, for example...

In other words, I do not suspect "breakdown" has ever been professionally recognized.

3. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He