1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is bareback safe for a commited couple?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by lil legs, Mar 30, 2014.

1. lil legs

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    my and my bf are wondering, how safe is bareback? even once we get fully checked for sti's/std's, because we know there is alot of harmful bacteria in that area and obviously getting any of that on a penis can cause infection, so how safe is bareback and if there's a way to make inside cleaner thus safer? thanks

2. Sotv

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I've been doing it with my boyf for 4 months now and we've had no problems. Neither of us have STIs or know other gay people so there's very little chance of it. I have heard someone mention UTIs on here and I'd be interested to hear what people say about that because in unsure myself.
    Conclusion: if you are COMMITTED it's safe but I can't answer about UTIs

3. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Couple different issues:

1. UTIs are a genuine concern, and are a lot more common in couples that bareback than those that don't.

2. The unfortunate but accurate statistic is that one of the biggest single sources of new HIV infections is within committed, monogamous couples. In other words, a couple where they both commit to being monogamous and one of them cheats on the other.