1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Antidepressants

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Alisa Arwen, Oct 26, 2014.

1. Alisa Arwen

Does anyone here have any experience with use of SSRIs?

I was prescribed citalopram way back but never really got on with it (side effects). At one point my doctor prescribed me sertraline, but I went through a good spell and never took it.

I am considering, after failing to get any counselling sessions prescribed, whether I should try sertraline, and was wondering what other people's experience with it had been.

Thanks.

2. anonym

anonym Guest

I'm no expert but I think the efficacy of an antidepressant drug varies from person to person. You just have to find the right one for you. Also, counselling in itself can't necessarily cure depression. It's more about the changes it enables you to make in your life outside of therapy and the counselling process itself can at times be very painful and in the short term, actually make you feel worse.

I am currently taking sertraline but as a top up on of my dose of mirtazipine so it's a relatively low dose. My doctor tried to up it a few months ago but it made me feel much much worse. Tearful and suicidal. I did take a higher dose of sertraline a couple of years back without the mirtazipine but it didn't work so well for me. I noticed little difference in my mood. I was still tearful and dissociating. This was after I couldn't get on with the side effects of citalopram.

I think you just have to try it and see. I have found that mirtazipine works best for me.

3. Alisa Arwen

Can I ask what side effects you had with citalopram?

4. Fairybread

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone