1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bipolar?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Calix, Dec 10, 2014.

1. Calix

So ermm. I've been suspecting I may have bipolar for a couple of years. When I was 14/15 I thought it was just depression. But when I was 17 I started to notice I got a lot of weird 'hyper' moods every so often. I just told myself it was sugar or something, but that wasn't always the case. Just did some online tests and every single one said moderate-severe likelihood of bipolar ... and now I dunno what to do.

My doctor is already thinking of making me try new anti-depressants since my depression got worse. But I'm wondering if SSRI's never worked now because it's actually bipolar? They would always give me panic attacks or make me feel really dull and washed-out.

Also there's the issue of my dad. He's okay with my seasonal affective disorder and he's had no choice but to be okay with my gender dysphoria. But to him I don't have depression and he laughs at the idea of people having bipolar. The main reason he wouldn't believe it for me is because I'm 'functioning'. The fact I have a job, do chores, shower everyday, can feed myself, etc means I can't possibly have mental health issues. Ugh, my dad ...

Do you think It's worth my asking my doctor? Or just trying these new tablets and see if they work? They're not SSRI, It's an SNRI instead this time.

2. Najlen

How long do your hyper moods last? If they last more than a few days, there is a chance that you have it. If you are worried, you should probably bring it up with your doctor.
    Hopefully your dad will eventually learn that many people with depression are able to function fairly normally.

3. shinji

shinji Guest

I'm sorry if I come off as somewhat insensitive, but I feel the need to ask this. How exactly did you manage to diagnose yourself online?