1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oral Sex Question

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by alwayshope11, Jan 19, 2015.

1. alwayshope11

Hello all! I just have a question / would like opinions on this!

I am negative via a blood test for HSV 1 and HSV 2 (herpes). I am getting into a new (first gay) relationship and was wondering what I should do about condoms and oral sex. Since I haven't been exposed to hsv at all and most people have, I am worried I will get it more easily on my junk if someone goes down on me. I have read a lot of conflicting things and just want to see others' thoughts. Thanks!

2. Wardrobe93

im sure you cant catch anything from recieving oral sex and as long as you dont swallow you should be pretty safe giving but im not a medical professional

3. alwayshope11

I guess I'm just wondering if people take this risk...since most doctors don't even test for hsv and I feel like asking a partner to get that test would open up a wormhole of questions..where is the hsv etc.

4. Maeve

You ABSOLUTELY can catch STIs from receiving oral sex.

HSV1 usually lives in the mouth (aka cold sores) but can be transferred to the genitals, even if there are no active sores. Gonnorhea, syphilis, and HPV can be transmitted orally. It's also possible to get HIV if the infected performer has a bleeding sore or cut in the mouth.

If there is contact of the genitals, vulva/vagina or anus/rectum with genitals, vulva/vagina, anus/rectum or mouth, there is potential to get STIs. Safer sex is better sex.

5. alwayshope11

So you use condoms for oral sex?

6. Maeve

Well, they make flavored condoms for a reason... :eusa_danc

If you are hooking up, absolutely use condoms for any sort of sexual activity. If you are in a serious, long-term relationship with someone who is clear of testable STIs, it's at your discretion.

tl;dr: yes.

7. alwayshope11