1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP)

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Incognito10, Feb 7, 2015.

1. Incognito10

I have just about made up my mind that I am going to see a doctor to be put on PrEP because I feel that it is just the right thing for protecting myself and even protecting society by being part of a solution to HIV transmission.

For those who don't know about PrEP, it's a medication that can be taken by HIV negative persons to help prevent contracting the virus. Here is more information: CDC - Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) - Research - Prevention Research - HIV/AIDS

I've been studying it for a few months now and reading a lot of articles and one other benefit of taking this medication is that the doctor who provides it is required to do periodic STI tests (for both HIV and others) so you're essentially forced to always be knowledgeable about your sexual health and if something were contracted, you'd likely get it discovered and treated relatively quickly.

I basically just wanted to put this information out here for discussion and find out if others here are on it (and have experiences to share), considered it or maybe you've never heard of and now you've learned something new :icon_bigg Also, does anyone have any negative opinions about the concept...I know I've read some...

2. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    It is really important to realize a few things:

1) side effects may be an issue, and you must report the slightest such effects, whether expected or not, to your doctor.

2) There has been research to back up non-continuous use, i.e. so called "on-demand", which also seems to be effective.