1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you know when anxiety/depression medication starts to work?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by LionHearted, Apr 22, 2015.

1. LionHearted

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I started taking anxiety/depression medication about a week ago. When does it start to work? How do you know it works? I'm also nervous/worried about it making my personality change. It won't do that, right?

2. Winter Maiden

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    It usually starts working after a week and a half - two weeks. You'll obviously still be yourself but a less depressed self, honestly. It may take longer fire stronger effect though it depends. >.<

3. LionHearted

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Okay, thank you so much :slight_smile: it's my first time taking this kind of medicine and I was too nervous to ask my doctor.. But thank you :slight_smile:

4. Winter Maiden

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Dont mention it sweeheart :slight_smile: never hesitate to speak to your doctor if you have any doubts or questions your doctor is there to answer those questions and to eliminate the doubts :slight_smile: dont be afraid hun n_n

5. Hiems

Unicorn Queen is correct. Anxiolytics and antidepressants tend to have therapeutic lag. That is, it takes awhile for their effects to kick in.

I'm not too sure on the personality change.

If you're taking an SSRI, side effects may include weight gain and drowsiness. Be careful while driving/operating machinery. If you get unexplained weight gain, then talk to your doctor about it.

6. Runner5

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual