1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I might have diabetes...help?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by MindvsHeart, Jun 19, 2015.

1. MindvsHeart

MindvsHeart Guest

Wellll..here's the thing. A little over a year ago, I learned that I was insulin resistant and was given medication to take...but recently, I guess the medication hasn't really been working and I've been showing signs that I have diabetes. My mom is urging me to go to the doctor's tomorrow to check.
    :help:
    :help:
    So, my questions would have to be - what should I expect while at the doctor's? What are ways to cope if I do have diabetes? (I know that there are two types and...yeah. I'm still learning :eusa_doh:slight_smile: Tips from anyone who is diabetic?

Thanks in advance! (*hug*)

2. ThatFrostyGuy

Type 1 usually manifests around teenage years, and is caused by the body not producing insulin. However, as you said you were insulin resistant that sounds like type 2, which is when the body cells resist the insulin. Although as you're not middle aged or overweight type 2 would be unusual, though not impossible.

In either case definitely go to the doctor, diabetes can and does kill.

My friend is type 1 and we never really notice, he just has to take insulin tablets and monitor his blood sugar level. I think he pees on something, I've never asked.

Having diabetes is unfortunate and means you would have to cut down on sugar, but it's perfectly manageable.

3. edogs334

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay