1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chest pain after binding

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by castheking, Nov 25, 2015.

1. castheking

So, I'm pretty new to the whole binding thing. I'm not in an accepting household, so a friend of mine gave me one of his older binders so that I could wear it at school. I wore it for about an hour at first (about a week ago), I even timed it because I know you're supposed to start off small. It seemed okay, if not a little uncomfortable because I wasn't used to it.

We had a half day at school today, so I figured it'd be a good time to try to wear it again. I had a slight suspicion that it was too small, but I was dumb and wore it anyway for some reason? I don't know. I regret it now, because it's been about 12 hours since I took it off and I still have the lingering feeling of a sore chest. I have little random sharp pains here and there, and it's a little uncomfortable to breathe deeply. I only wore it for about two hours before I started to feel a bit lightheaded and took it off. I'm honestly not sure if I was an actual physical problem or just my anxiety, since I was really nervous about the whole situation. Now I'm just kind of freaking out, and the mild panic isn't really helping with the chest pain that's already there. So does anyone have any advice, or even just some reassuring words?

2. Minori

Do you think you were feeling anxiety over the binder or something else?
    Like most things, you have to to do them slowly. One step at a time,
    You wouldn't do 100 situps every day when you haven't done one in years.
    So you should definitely not wear a binder for that many hours when you aren't use to it.
    Start off small, maybe 1 week. Wear it for 1 hour a day. Then 2 hours the next week, and increase the number of hours depending on how comfortable you start to feel. It does take a lot to get use to.

3. castheking