1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Healthy Lifestyle/Weight Loss Thread

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Numfarh, Jan 20, 2009.

1. Numfarh

Numfarh Guest

I was thinking, since there are so many of us who are striving to lose weight in a healthy way, we could have a thread solely dedicated to helping each other acheive our goals. That way we can condense all the seperate threads into one super helpful place. We can talk about favourite workouts, songs that help motivate us, great recipes/snacks and how to deal with late night hunger pangs. We can post progress and potentially find "workout buddies" who follow a similar regime.

Here's my story thus far:

I have always been "heavier" than most girls. I never really lost the chubby baby fat when I grew and due to high muscle density, I always weighed alot more.

I used to swim competitively on a local swim team until I graduated from highschool. Until grade ten, I would swim every Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday morning and every day after school. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, we would do "dryland" training. When I made the improv team and the pressure to do better at school became more intense, I gradually cut down the amount of working out I was doing. I never changed my eating patterns though. My mother, who is overweight, always used to keep snacks (think cookies, chips and other sweeties) in the house and this is what I would snack on. By senior year, I had gone from 127 pounds to about 140 pounds.