1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with posture

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by RainbowJay, Jul 8, 2009.

1. RainbowJay

I keep trying to walk/stand/sit straight, but sometimes my shoulders just naturally pull forward :bang:

it hurts my back in the long run and even my doctor says that because I slouch I have a couple of inches stored in my spinal area that take away from my height which is 5'8½

my doctor didn't really have any good suggestions, so that's why I'm here (although I didn't expect her to tell me anything useful)

are there any techniques that can help improve my posture? :/

2. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Check out the Alexander Technique. When I was a student at Oberlin, known worldwide for its music conservatory (which I was *not* in), a lot of the conservatory students had studied Alexander Technique to improve their posture, which, in turn, helps their playing.

I don't know a whole lot about it, but my Oberlin friends described working with an individual Alexander teacher who would help you learn to breathe, stand, and sit in ways that are optimal for your health and posture. I know that just about everyone I met who had studied Alexander for any length of time had near-perfect posture (as far as I could see) and some of them were able to show pictures of how they had stood before, so you could really see a difference.

Hope that helps.

3. KatoKumi

Take up a dance!

My ballroom teacher had these sticks on me all the time because my chin wouldn't stay up and my back wasn't straight. Now it feels wrong to slouch, and I feel like I'll get hit.

Other than that, just work on arching more often. Like back-bends. Maybe you could even check if you may have scoliosis. Even to a small degree.

4. Markio