1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Infection through oral?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by xXHolic, Jul 19, 2009.

1. xXHolic

I am asking this question as yesterday (to be exact like 5 hours ago) I had oral sex with a guy I barely knew.. Is there a danger in swallowing sperm from other guys??
    I know it's not dangerous if the other guy is not infected with something.. but if he is infected by anything, it there a chance he can transmit it to you over oral action??
    I've checked for open mouth wounds, but my mouth is healthy and there is no sign of anywhere the virus could take hold..
    please I need an answer :tears:

2. littledinosaurs

I'm not an expert, but i believe the risk is low.
    But it still exists.

3. Bookmarked

As a general rule, the transmission of sexually transmitted infections orally is quite rare and very low risk but not unheard of.

Generally speaking, oral sex is a low risk activity, that's made more risky by the act of swallowing, or if you have open cuts/sores/ulcers in your mouth. It's highly unlikely that you've picked something up. However, if you're still concerned, you might want to book yourself for an STI test in a couple of weeks time.

As a future thing, try to avoid unprotected sex of any kind, especially with new partners and people you don't know the infectious status of. Make sure that you don't have any ulcers or similar and don't brush your teeth beforehand (it tends to leave lots of little cuts, and thus points of entry). Hope that helped.

4. xXHolic

A friend of mine just told me that if the HIV infects you (even through oral sex), your organism reacts like you have the flu.. Like with fever, sore throat etc.. it this even true?

5. Eleanor Rigby

I've found this on http://www.aids.org which I think is quite a reliable website.

6. Bookmarked