1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plan For Quitting

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by thedreamwatch, Jan 30, 2011.

1. Hey all,

I'm quitting smoking and I've smoked for several years now, from 1/4 pack a day to a pack a day and all over the place in between depending on my stress level.

Unfortunately, as a student I don't have a ton of disposable income and cigarettes are VERY expensive here. Also, I'm tired of feeling like crap all the time and having to go outside in winter to smoke.

So, I'm quitting. I've tried before, but this time I have a different plan and I'm wondering what people think about it.

1. I heard a thing about using a water bottle to satisfy the oral fixation that longtime smokers have. Every time you want a cigarette, take a couple little drinks of water. It's roughly the same motion and also good for you! I imagine it will help flush my system out and perhaps get rid of all that nicotine.

2. I am curious if anyone knows about herbal cigarettes. They are apparently tobacco and nicotine free and made out of natural things like rose petals and marshmallow leaves and all kinds of stuff. I like smoking, I'm not gonna lie and if I can still do it, but it also helps me break my addiction to nicotine and get the tar out of my lungs, then heck I'm all in! Plus, they are much cheaper to buy than regular cigarettes.

Opinions on this? Suggestions on what else I should be doing? I am really determined that this is going to be the time that I can kick the habit.

---------- Post added 30th Jan 2011 at 09:46 PM ----------

OH, and the incentive for actually quitting is that if I do it, I'm treating myself to a new tattoo!

2. midwestblues