1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In need of advice for losing weight

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by miguelm, Oct 9, 2011.

1. miguelm

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hey :smilewave

So I am mexican american. I am a sophomore in college and i work part time. Lately i do not like the way i look so i want to change and make myself healthier. This week i will start going to the gym but i need some advice. I want to lose weight but how should i go about it? What exercise should i do? What should i eat? What shouldnt i eat? :help:

2. Mogget

Losing weight is really, really hard. As in the rate may be in the 90% area (the figure of 95-98% commonly cited by Health At Every Size activists is questionable, but not the overall fact of very high failure rates). And no, that's not for fad diets, it's for all diets. And so-called lifestyle changes. And for diets combined with increased exercise. Often dieting results in a temporary weight loss which is quickly regained, sometimes leading to an overall weight gain.

This is not to say that a change in diet and an increase in exercise are bad ideas. They aren't. Eating healthily is always a good idea, and so is getting lots of exercise. Just don't expect them to lead to weight loss, especially not permanent weight loss.

3. Kidd

Kidd Guest

When I wanted to lose weight I stopped drinking all pop, and I started running regularly, and now I've started to get tighter on what I allow myself to eat. I'm down to below 165 pounds now, from 220, and I've kept it off for the last three years. Make changes to your life gradually, one at a time. Don't jump into a bunch of new plans right away because you're going to feel overwhelmed and want to quit.