1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using an Elliptical?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by nerdvain, Jan 3, 2012.

1. nerdvain

Okay, so we just picked up an elliptical today, and I'm really excited about it. It couldn't have come at a better time, what with my new found (reborn) desire for fitness.
    I know how the machine is used, but I can't seem to find any good routines or plans involving it.
    I know cardio workouts should be at least 30 minutes, 3-5 times a week, with 5 minutes of warm up and cool down. But in those middle 20+ on an elliptical, it isn't going to be just like a treadmill. What am I aiming for? Heart rate? Milage? RPM? Should I use the handlebars as much as possible? I'm a fish out of water here.

I have some background in exercise (namely cardio), so I'm not completely new to the idea. I was trying a 9-week program a little while back that had me working up to 3 miles a day on the treadmill or something like that, until the thing broke. So it's not like my poor body's been neglected for 17 years.

What do all my fit EC bretheren/sisters have to say about using this handy piece of equipment?

2. Ridiculous

The best indication of effective cardio is heartrate - after all, cardio is Greek for heart.

Here is a graph I blatantly stole from a site found using Google Images:

[​IMG]

I would say that that graph does put the 'Fat burn' zone a little low at 60-70% of maximum heart rate; I would instead aim for 65-75%. So if you were 20 years old, you would aim for a heart rate of between 130 BPM and 150BPM. If you are within that range then it is effective exercise for burning fat, whatever the exercise may be. These numbers are based off the average for that age, so it may need to be adjusted up or down depending on your fitness.