1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Drinking...

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by LOTRgirl, Feb 11, 2012.

1. LOTRgirl

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    I suppose this could also go in the 'support and advice' section, but I figured it does involve my health, so I posted here instead. First, let me just say that I'm really, really sorry for how much I'm about to write!!

So, I'm 20 years old and I've been drinking for about four years now. I didn't start drinking heavily until two years ago, though, and this year has actually been the heaviest I've drank. Am I concerned for my liver? Yes, definitely. I'm also really concerned for my mental health. Lately, I've been drinking earlier and earlier because I feel so awful. It's been a rather rough week for me and these days, when things get rough, I tend to pour myself a drink or drink a couple beers in an effort to get tipsy/drunk. Things feel so much better that way.

I'm still struggling with accepting myself and it feels horrid. I know that eventually things will get better but it's so difficult right now (where's that easy button I can press to make everything wonderful right now?) I also have a crush on a boy that I honestly know is awful and is definitely one of those crushes that isn't going to go anywhere (so why waste my time?) but part of me is holding onto him so that I feel...straight, for lack of a better word. Without crushing on him, I may actually have to face myself, and that's a scary fact. I do like him though, so it never feels good to watch my close friend throw herself all over him.