1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Okay doctors on monday/wensday

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Ty, Jan 2, 2008.

1. Ty

Ty Guest

So while im at the doctors im gonna ask about hep b immunization. But hep B shots are usually for gay people right? Would my doctor say something like "Oh, usually its just gay people who get this shot" to which i would go bright red and my mum would just stare at me... I could see something like that happening >.>
    I just wanna know if thats possible before i ask, cause i may not even do it now... bleh

2. Paul_UK

Paul_UK Guest

Hep B shots are not just for gay people. However the fact that you are asking could suggest that you are sexually active or intend to become sexually active. Sex is probably the most likely way of contracting Hep B, though I am no expert on that.

The doctor would not say that gay people have Hep B shots, but he probably would ask why you think you need them, which would be just as embarrassing in front of your mum (unless you have a convincing reason and your mum already knows that and accepts it).

If I was you I would use this doctor's visit just to clear up the current illness etc, and don't mention Hep B at all.

Then once you are feeling better make yourself an appointment with the doctor and go on your own to discuss Hep B. Or go along to the local GUM clinic or Gay Men's Health Project session or whatever they call it in your area, where you can get your Hep B jabs anonymously.

3. joeyconnick

joeyconnick Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Pretty much the most common way, by far, from what I understand. At least in the "developed" world.

Actually I could definitely see a clueless doctor saying that. Doctors are human too, you know, with all the blinders and prejudices that the rest of humanity exhibits.