1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning to start working out

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Travel Tech, Mar 29, 2012.

1. Travel Tech

I've decided that I want to start working out a bit. I have free access to a huge workout area at my college, so I plan on utilizing that. I've never really worked out before, and to be honest I'm a scrawny little weakling. My question is, how should I begin?

2. Nightmaric

Some general advice:
    Go slow. You won't get anything accomplished by speeding through everything haphazardly.
    Be well hydrated and eat right (this gets me the most)
    Consistency. Make sure you are working out at least 3 times a week if you want results.
    Target. Target areas you want to work and try and maintain this target workout. Don't just try every machine out in the gym.

I'm a novice in a way but these are general tips given at bodybuilding.com. I'd recommend it, I've seen some results from working out and it's really good. I hope this helps.

3. Z3ni

Z3ni Guest

I'd say try push ups/ pull ups, you know the basics to get you started. And use light dumbells.

4. greeneyes

ask a trainer for tips. or get at least one private session where they explain how to safely use everything.

5. Ridiculous

This is good advice. I'd like to expand on the last two points by saying that it's a good idea to only work out each muscle group once a week, and then give it the rest of the week to recover before exercising it again. So if you are exercising 3 times a week, only do your arms in one of those sessions, not in all three. If you don't give your muscles enough to time to rebuild after exercise, then they never get a chance to increase in size and strength.
    When you're first starting out it isn't much of a problem as the weight you are using will be low, but it becomes more important as you progress.