1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adoption and Mental Health

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Hengrove22, Jun 4, 2012.

1. Hengrove22

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hey guys, just a quick query about adoption for gay guys, as I'm not exactly sure about one thing.

How important is mental health in the process? I am a gay guy who is hoping to adopt in the future, if possible, but have/have had some serious mental health problems in the past.

I realise it is an important issue, especially for the adoption agencies as prospective parents will be looking after possible ill children or those who are predisposed to mental health.

My background is quite severe depression with 3 suicide attempts (2 over dose and 1 hanging attempt) but I am now better, I am on long term medication with various input from psychiatrists, mental health nurses and my general practiitoner and I hope not to have any future problems.

I completely understand the consequences of what I did and am prepared to realise this may mean I am unable to adopt, so please be honest as I would rather know.

Thanks guys :slight_smile:

2. Hengrove22

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Is this in the wrong forum? Or maybe no one knows the answer? No problems if not :wink:

3. brocub

When you're adopting, you'll have to get your psychiatrist or general physician to sign off on forms saying that you are fit to be a parent.

4. peanutbutter

:slight_smile: you will be a great parent, don't beat your self up over history, allow it to help you grow and become a great parent.

5. im not changing