1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running!

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by BudderMC, Aug 2, 2012.

1. BudderMC

So, I've been seriously thinking about taking up running the last couple of days. In no way am I really in shape, so I'm pretty new to this. Definitely going to be running outside though, probably at night too since it's cooler, mostly because I can't stand treadmills and stuff.

Any general tips or things I should know about before I go ahead? Eating times, precautionary tales, etc. I could search the Internet for this stuff, but I'd be there for days weeding through all the info on different sites... I figured it's probably easier to just ask someone who actually does run. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

Thanks guys!

2. prism

[All of this is from experience, I would double-check my health habit recommendations before committing to them. Everyone is different.]

Running is so good for you, but running on concrete is so bad for your kneeeeees! I try to only run on the track at my school's gym, but I don't really have a choice when I'm home for vacations. It's an awesome hobby to have and I hope to one day have the endurance to run a marathon.

1) Run on an empty stomach
    I'm still learning about eating habits myself, and what works best for me. At first I thought the running pains I was getting happened to everyone who was starting out, but soon found out it was because I had food in my stomach! It's a terrible side pain caused by food that's being bounced around inside of you. Trying to time when to run on an empty stomach is hard, so I just run every morning before I eat. I live in a questionable neighborhood, so to avoid being abducted and shipped back to the old country, I run at 5AM.

2) WATERRR.