1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Depression?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Retrospect, Oct 9, 2012.

1. Retrospect

I've been feeling very down lately. I mean, I've always had more of a sad personality than most people, but lately it is starting to interfere with my life. I feel so empty and hollow, and like I'm a zombie that does the same thing every day. I feel distant from my friends and family, and I've been turned down by every guy I've asked on a date within the past couple of months. I have this feeling like I'm all alone and that I'll be stuck like this forever. I'm having a really hard time being able to study and do my schoolwork. Every day for the past couple of weeks, whenever I'm studying, my mind will wander and I'll start daydreaming about meeting and dating a great guy. Then, I'll come back down to reality and just start crying uncontrollably. It's this horrible loneliness - I know I'm technically not alone, but it just feels like it and it hurts. :icon_sad:

So, do you guys think it could be a sign of depression and I ought to go see a counselor, or is this just a normal phase that will pass eventually? Depression does run in both sides of my family, in differing degrees and types - I've just never considered possibly having it until recently.

Any help is appreciated!

2. Jared