1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Diabetes

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by nintenfreak92, Feb 15, 2008.

1. Diabetes runs on both sides of my family, and lately I have been able to eat and eat and not gain a single pound. Also, lately if I have any type of sugar I get really tired. Should I be concerned?

2. Bromptonrocks

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Errrmm....not really. You're way too young to be really concerned although diabetes in young people is possible. Because it runs on both sides of your family, it just makes you more susceptible to diabetes - you won't necessarily get it.

Lots of people your age can eat and eat without weight gain and sugar can have a draining effect on you depending on how much you consume. I'm not a doctor so I don't really want to say you've got nothing to worry about (and get it wrong!!). If you have any concerns, speak to your doctor. He can arrange a blood test and put your mind at rest.

3. sexyalex

umm, no need to panic mate. like HIV u can have diabetis and live OK. i have diabetes and i am ok. i am not overweight or anything and i am type 2. infact my doctor said the trace of diabetis in my blood is so small it would seem as if it isn't there. EVERYONE in my family is diabetic but non have died from it...only high blood pressure.

so if u know diabetes runs through ur family don't be conserned about how much sugar u have in ur diet persay(since we r still young) it's best to concentrate on the amount of iron and calcium our body/blood receive. because what people don't know the main causes of diabetes isn't sugar...it's stress. that's how my mom got it. i was born with it.