1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scrapping gums?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Yogabear, Feb 9, 2013.

1. Yogabear

Yogabear Guest

Out Status:
    Some people
    Is it advisable to scrap dead skin off inside your gums or not? I frequently get nervous, so I feel around my mouth and feel dead flesh in there and use my fingernails to scrap it out. I cannot afford like many americans to do routine dental experience with less than $8000.00 per year that I can barely live than concern myself with basic dental upkeep. Thank you for your answers or shared experiences cause I don't want this to be a problem dating a guy with open sores and all e.g spreading stds, etc to one another.

Thanks,
    Yoga

2. bingostring

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    your scraping does not sound right to me at all. Though I am no professional...

Gums should be smooth and, in my experience, not give up dead skin unless you have scalded yourself with hot drinks

If money is an issue then can you at least get a high street pharmacist to comment (free)
    - or ask a dentist, doctor

or do more internet research of your own ...

because poor gums can just lead to bigger problems later on

best wishes

#2 bingostring, Feb 9, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013
  3. KaraBulut

All that is needed to maintain good oral hygiene is flossing, brushing (including gentle brushing of the gums/cheeks/tongue and rinsing with mouthwash a few times a week to help keep plaque build-up under control.

Some people use a tongue-scraper to help remove bacterial film from the tongue but this can be accomplished with a toothbrush, too.

4. Yogabear

Yogabear Guest

Out Status:
    Some people