1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Working out and dieting?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by 1Jake2, Mar 10, 2013.

1. 1Jake2

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi,
    I'm 14 and I'm thinking about starting to work out a little. I own an elliptical, a treadmill and little weights that go up to 10lbs (little multicoloured ones that my parents use LOL). As you can tell by how I'm explaining this, I have no experience whatsoever with exercise. Not that I'm overweight, I'm a normal size for my age, I just want to be healthier and more active. I also want to start eating healthier. I'm on a Gluten free diet because of reasons, too, but most gluten free things have a lot of calories. I need advice as to what kinds of workouts I should start with and what foods I should stay away from and how to count portions and all of that healthy stuff! Thank you in advance!

2. Ridiculous

What's your fitness like right now?
    The problem with newcomers - especially teenagers - using exercise equipment and weights is that you can be a bit too enthusiastic, which can easily lead to injury. Things like your elliptical machine and treadmill and other cardio* equipment are okay, but weights easily cause injury if your muscles can't quite handle them.
    It's usually suggested for people just starting to work on their fitness to do bodyweight exercises, as they are difficult to injure yourself with but still provide an excellent workout for beginners - this means things like pushups, pullups, crunches/situps, (unweighted) squats, and so on. If you're just beginning these will give you progress at about the same rate as an equivalent weighted exercise will. You can easily make them more difficult simply by doing more of them. The best thing about these is that you can do them anywhere and don't need any equipment.