1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Inexpensive healthy eating?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by skiff, Mar 17, 2013.

1. skiff

skiff Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hello,

Eating healthy is imprtant, but eating healthy is often very expensive.

There are lots of inexpensive crap laden, over processed food that is wasy enough to find. I am curious if anyone has found some inexpensive healthy alternatves out there.

Is a banana and a palmful of nuts a good meal replacement if you are widdling down to one full meal a day?

Curious about budget savers but still staying with healthier choices.

#1 skiff, Mar 17, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2013
  2. Hopeful

Hi,

I feel you. I try to eat healthy and get plenty of exercise.

I'm no expert, but a banana and a palmful of nuts doesn't seem healthy to me. You need a variety of food and though that's a great snack, it's not going to be enough energy to replace an entire meal. I'd say go with veggies and hummus as well or a salad with no or little dressing (what I do with dressing is take half a serving and mix it with water so it spreads the taste over the lettuce).

If you're exercising as well, then you definitely need to eat more. Don't starve yourself! You'll be unhappy and depressed if your body isn't getting enough food.

Good luck!

3. skiff

skiff Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    The reason I point to bananas as they are a staple of primates.

In the past too there were children with food allergies who lived on a banana diet (banana babies) alone as they supply many of the requirements.

The one full meal is meant to supply variety in foods.

#3 skiff, Mar 17, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2013
  4. BudderMC

What are you trying to accomplish when you say eating "healthy"?

Because typically, 1-meal-a-day (no matter how many calories and nutrients it provides) isn't considered "healthy".

5. skiff